Why is it so hard for the middle-aged to get together?

8 Jul
I remember back in high school where it took roughly 30 minutes for a group of twelve of us to hang out, plan an activity, or throw a party.  Maybe two phone calls were required to get twenty people together.  It was easy and fun!  I loved it!  Now, since my friends are all middle-aged, getting people together requires the strategy, tactics, and planning usually associated with Special Forces Operations.  
 
The idea, just the thought, of getting people together is exhausting.  It would require weeks of careful planning, multiple phone calls, and carefully constructed negotiations involving people who won’t even be there.  I mean, I feel like I have to get approval from each of my friend’s Party Approval Committee to see if they can come out.  It’s a lot like, when you were a kid, knocking on your neighbors door, having the Mom answer, and ask if Steve can “come out and play.”  When the Mom said “no”, we’d get disappointed, kick some dirt while walking away, and think to ourselves we could hardly wait until we were grown up so we could do whatever we want.
 
HAHAHAHAHA, way to go, Belitz!  Let’s miss the obvious observation that, as adults, to get someone to a party, you have to get babysitters,  permission from spouses, check work schedules, check the day-timer, make sure kids don’t get sick, and the host has to give detailed information when the party begins and when it will end so all of this will be planned.  The number of phone calls involved getting a single friend to a party is probably around 5 to 7.  
 
The reason for this is simple: adults do not have control of our lives.  The last time I remember having personal freedom and the ability to do what I want pretty much whenever I wanted was in college.  Since then, I have slowly lost control of my own life.  This gets even more troublesome when you have employees.  They view you as the person in charge, but they are, in fact, in charge of you.  Why?  Because you can’t do anything without them first doing something.  I felt like I had to bluff them to create the illusion I was the boss of my own life.
 
For instance, my family has a house in Vail.  I want to have a Vail weekend sometime this summer and invite whoever can make it.  Getting this done will require a hundred or so hours of collective work on our part.  I’ve already put three to four hours into this and I haven’t even got a date yet!  Even in my mid-twenties, when I throw a party up there, all I had to do was tell some people how to get there and when they should be there to get it done.  That era of my life appears to be over, unless I take some drastic change.  I want a social life back!  I want to have a group of friends who can get together quickly, like in college or high school.  
 
I think I need to make friends with people in their mid-twenties.  This way, they are adults, have some money, but aren’t burdened with over-sight committees consisting of spouses, children, babysitters, and work.  
 
I think this is the only way I can get this done.
 
Further Bulletins as Events Warrant
 
C
Leave a Reply

