Aside

Why does voting feel like taking your sister to the prom?

23 Oct

When I first turned 18, I couldn’t wait to vote.  I had been a news and political junky for years.  I knew all the issues at the state and Federal levels, researched all the candidates, formed my own opinions, got into barely civilized debates, and I was generally annoying.  I remember the first time I voted and how excited I was to push buttons for the people, issues, and bills I supported.  I would then stay up late waiting to hear the results and anxious for what future would be provided.  Politics and elections were my sport.  It was my entertainment and obsession.  After voting in 6 cycles, my attitude toward elections has evolved from unbridled optimism to a mechanism for roommate revenge (I voted the exact opposite the way one of my obnoxiously belligerent politics obsessed roommates voted just to irritate him) to my current feeling. 

 
Voting feels like I’m taking my sister to the prom: even if everything works out, it will still be disgusting.  
 
Does anybody else feel like this, or is it just me?
 
Further Bulletins as Events Warrant
 
C
 
PS I don’t have a sister, by the way.   
One Response to “Why does voting feel like taking your sister to the prom?”

  1. Katie October 24, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    Ha! That’s a good, albeit unfortunate, way of looking at it.

Leave a Reply

