Memo to world: I hate the day after an election

7 Nov

Attention World: I hate the day after an election.  

 
In all fairness, I don’t like any disruption to my schedule, routine, or TV watching.  Given that any election destroys all three of these things, I’m going to be in a bad mood.  What makes matters worse is every single election cycle I manage to convince myself people will go back to, y’know, acting like real people the day after an election.  This never happens.  People are either depressed because their candidate lost or obnoxious because their candidate won.  They also manage to convince themselves their lives will change if one person is in the office as opposed to another.  Guess what?  It doesn’t.  80% of the budget is already fixed, foreign policy is set by the State department, most of the social issues people vote on are decided by the Supreme Court, and the luckiest narcissist will still be in the oval office.  
 
After every presidential election, I manage to lie to myself to think that people won’t make gigantic life-changing decisions the day after an election.  They do.  I’m working on three huge research projects right now.  One of them is now on hold because two of my contacts are depressed Romney lost, another one was only talking to me because they were convinced Obama would lose, and I’m dreading calling up several of my peps in Nebraska–who I need to talk too to push forward another project–because I’m going to listen to them talk about how life isn’t worth living since Romney didn’t get elected.  I mean, should I even bother trying to work today?  All I’m going to hear about is the election and people bitch about things they can’t control, can’t change, and otherwise make statements that are technically speaking felonies. 
 
Then, there is going to be my afternoon conference call with NYC.  I’m dreading this one because they are going to talk the entire time about Obama and how Christ would worship him if he was alive today and not what information I need answered so I can close up this project.  World: I don’t care who you voted for.  I don’t care about how the world is going to come to an end or how justice will suddenly appear because your favorite jackass is behind a desk.  What I care about is finishing my projects so I can move on with my life.
 
So, I’m proposing we declare business-as-usual day.  We all go about our business and continue leading our lives.  You can talk about the election, its implications, and other political-economic business, but there is no complaining or gloating.  
 
Who’s with me?  
One Response to “Memo to world: I hate the day after an election”

  1. Ned's Blog November 7, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    While at a meeting last night, I checked my phone to see how the election was going. “It looks like the Bozo is going to win,” I said, even though it was tied at that point. Someone said, “Which ‘Bozo?'” I looked at them and replied, “Does it really matter?”

    In short: I’m with you.

Leave a Reply

